Domestic Goddess???

I have always fancied myself as a bit of a “domestic goddess” (DG)

Not the “my house is spotless” kind (I have the upmost respect for anyone who can keep their house spotless!) as I’m not inclined to do more than the bare minimum when it comes to housework!

I mean the “make everything from scratch” and “shun all things processed” kind of domestic goddess (even though using the phrase annoys the living daylights out of my inner feminist! Probably best to leave that one for another blog!)

Think Nigella Lawson mixed with Mary Berry and a sprinkle of Jamie Oliver (the ultimate domestic goddess in my books 😜)

I honestly believe that processed food is toxic and leads to illness and obesity – but oh my it’s so darn convenient!

So now I’ve found myself in the position of being on a “I live overseas and I don’t have a job” sabbatical I find myself tempted to get in the kitchen and experiment (probably making a massive mess along the way!)

Where do I start? My mind is inundated with ideas – home made bread, almond milk from scratch (actually surprisingly easy – give it a go!), cordial with no sweeteners and chemicals, protein balls (surely that is a must for the modern day DG?). Oh the possibilities!!!

Perhaps I should start my journey as a DG with a weekly meal prep (cause that is exactly what DG’s do – rather than standing in the kitchen at 7:05pm scratching their heads wondering what to cook with a packet of quorn mince and a sweet potato)

Thinking about it I suppose doing a weekly meal prep means that I’ll have to create a menu for the week…. Hmmm do I make allowances for the fact husband and I are cleansing on Monday and Tuesday? Or that Mr 16 needs about 4.5 times more food than the rest of us put together? Or that Mr 13 only really likes to eat carbs with a few veggies on the side? (Insert increased heart rate, sweaty forehead and hand wringing)

Maybe I’ll start my DG journey with something a little less complicated:

  • Home made granola,
  • lemon/ lime cordial,
  • salsa from scratch,
  • almond butter
  • Caesar salad dressing

Yep – cause suddenly the thought of meal prep is scaring me living daylights out of me!!

Perhaps before I totally demolish my kitchen (and my sanity) I should probably limit myself to 1 or 2 “experiments” per day…

But first time for a cup of tea!!! Oohhh I wonder if I should make tea from scratch?(😂🤣😂🤣)

Author: elbylicious40

I’m an Aussie living in the U.K... I love cooking, health and the gym (yes, I’m one of those people!!). I love nutrition and whole food... I have 2 amazing sons and a wonderful husband.. I love living overseas and although I miss my family in Australia I’m learning to enjoy new beginnings!!

Leave a comment